A Catholic Teen’s POV: How to Pray

First topic and post for this blog series…let’s get started. We’ll talk about prayer. It’s sometimes considered easy, but other times considered hard. It all depends on the person and the method of their prayer. But, today, I’ll tell you my thoughts on prayer, and what prayers I usually pray.

I think it’s always good to have prayer be a part of a person’s life from a young age. This can mean teaching a child to say a Hail Mary or a Glory Be at night or in the morning. I believe that by doing so, a child will have a very good foundation of the faith. It’s obvious that many will resolve their thoughts about prayer as just “being repetitive and monotonous.” Although that may sometimes seem like the case, there are ways to get out of that mindset.

The rosary has been something my family and I have been praying together everyday for as long as I can remember. There became a period of time when it seemed boring to me, and I thought of it as a task that just needed to be done so I could continue on to other things. When I went to a retreat, I had spiritual mentoring with a religious sister. This religious sister was the person that had helped me with my prayer life at it’s “slump.” She advised me instead of just saying the rosary and being distracted about other thoughts, that I should take that time to reflect on the mysteries and other Bible stories. I took her advice, and it has helped me immensely when I feel distracted about other things.

It was at this same retreat that I discovered the beauty of the Liturgy of the Hours. There were about four religious sisters there, and the other female teenagers, the religious sisters, and I would chant the Liturgy of the Hours. It has been some of the most beautiful moments of prayer in my life.

Prayer will only be boring or repetitive, if you make and think of it that way. My advice? Be positive about prayer, look forward to when you can pray, and start small if you’re beginning to pray. Don’t overwhelm yourself when first starting to pray. It takes time to pray.

I suggest that you could start with just talking with God or reciting the Our Father or Glory Be, then as you progress, maybe say the Divine Chaplet or pray the rosary. Then, maybe you could think about the Liturgy of the Hours or the Examen Prayer. Also, going to Adoration is a beautiful way of prayer.

The above suggestions are somewhat the process of how I’ve prayed. Even though I suggested that, in no way is that the correct way to pray. There’s so many forms of prayer out there, that there’s no absolute method for how to pray. I had someone ask me once, “How do I pray?” At that moment, I didn’t know how to answer them, because honestly, I had never thought of the question or answer. Although I had also struggled with my prayer life, I know that there is always a possibility to escape from that struggle.

If you are having difficulty in your prayer life, it would be extremely helpful to talk to a priest or a religious sister from my experience. Please know that you are all in my prayers, God bless you!

~VibrantCatholic~

Leave a Reply

