A Short Reflection on Unborn Children

Whenever people ask me how many siblings, I usually respond with, “I’m an only child.” But, truthfully, that isn’t true. I stumbled across an article by a woman that opened my eyes up to something new. The article was about a sibling that a woman had not acknowledged before, since he died because of miscarriage.

Thinking about this topic of miscarriage made me shed tears today, because my parents had gone through one and various struggles. It wasn’t until nine years of their marriage that I was born. I sometimes wish I had an older sibling or younger sibling I could talk to and spend time with. The reason I mostly got really close with my cousins, was because I was longing for a sibling. But, maybe my older sibling was yearning to be recognized by me, and I had not thought of them.

Just a few days ago when I was starting the post, I cried as I thought about this sibling that I had. I felt like a horrible person…I am pro-life, and fully understand that the unborn are human beings, yet I failed to understand that in the most personal way. I’m truly sorry to my older sibling, for being ungrateful and thoughtful. My older brother or sister was someone that I never considered a true sibling before, but this new revelation proved I was wrong in my thinking. I couldn’t be pro-life, and not acknowledge my older sibling to be a human being, because the unborn definitely are human beings.

Then, it struck me, those that are unborn are definitely human beings. Not that I didn’t believe this before, but it suddenly resonated deeply with me. There would be no reason why I would cry over “a clump of cells,” I was crying over a human being. Why would anyone cry for a “clump of cells?” It’s not logical. But, to cry over a human being’s death is something most would cry over personally. To simply state that an unborn child isn’t a human being is entirely false, they are.

It’s now more clear to me that unborn children no matter their stages of development, are human beings fully deserving of respect and love. As the woman stated in post, the next time someone asks me about my siblings, my response most likely won’t be, “I’m an only child,” but instead, it’ll be, “I have an older sibling in heaven.”

 

Leave a Reply

